Reading Journal

I love books…holding them, collecting them, and reading them; pretty much everything about them.  I love how you can get lost in a story and be transported to another time and place with just words. An avid reader from the time I learned how, I got my first library card when I was 4 years old and I’ve had one ever since. Over the years, I’ve had reading slumps where I didn’t read a lot but I still almost always had a book going. 

Having read a lot of books over the years, there have been many times when I know I’ve read a book but can’t remember much about it. Or can’t remember why I loved it or hated it. When I was doing a little Christmas shopping, I came across a Book Journal at a local store and was intrigued by it. I almost bought it but then decided that I wouldn’t use it so put it back.  Over the holidays, I picked up a book that I’ve had on my list for a while and when I was done with it, I wished I had that journal to write some things down about it. I ran back by the store the other day but it was gone. Of course it was, they only had the one! I got to thinking about it and decided that I didn’t need to buy one because I have so.many.blank.notebooks already. I could use one of them. But, me being me, I decided it needed to be dolled up a little bit. 

I’ve been doing some lettering with Lindsay Olstrom, lettering extraordinaire, on Facebook for the last few weeks and having SO much fun! She does a FB live every morning doodling and lettering from a prompt and let me tell you, she’s amazing at what she does! Using some of what I’ve learned from her, I did the lettering for the cover. I really like the whimsical feel of the different colors and letters. If I were to do it again, there’s some things I’d do different but for a first try, I’m okay with it. The books are a stamp set, Chapter One, from Unity Stamp Company. (And it’s on sale right now!) I stamped and colored it up and then fussy cut it and glued it on. 

I pondered what I’d like to put in it about each book I read and decided to keep it pretty basic. Each page will have a place for the Title, Author, Date Finished, Rating, and whether it was recommended to me and by whom at the top.  Then the rest of the page will be for my thoughts on the book. I went ahead and got the first few pages done and ready for me to enter my first book of 2021!

Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are. Mason Cooley

Leave a comment